Studying the Chakras can be simple and can be technical.  There is so much to learn and understand.  Sometimes I’ll pick up a book by a guru on the subject and get lost in the technical terms.  When this happens, I have to re-read it a few times, out loud to myself, or as a bedtime story for the kids.  I’ve done it before…it bored them, they went to sleep.

Today we are going to learn about the Root Chakra.  The Chakra that houses the great Kundalini ( ooooh! we’ll get to that some other time).  The foundation of our life begins at the Root Chakra.  Literally…the foundation of our lives begins at the Root Chakra and I’m not trying to be mysterious, but we’ll get to the foundation in a moment.  The most common knowledge of the Chakras come from the Hindu culture and that’s what we’ll be learning today.  I’m not trying to be confusing, I would just love to give you the most accurate information to my knowledge, by doing this, it opens a whole new world of healing into your mind if you are not familiar with the chakras. Hence the name the basics.

The Root Chakra, known in Sanskrit as The Muladhara Chakra is the foundational stepping stone of our Super 7 Chakra system.  I call it Super 7, because they are the main Chakras and I guess that would make them super!  When we sit in meditation pose, we are connecting our Root Chakra to the earth directly, for the reason the root chakra is located at the base of the spine and in between our genitals.  I think it would be cool, if you sat in meditation pose, tilted your pelvis upwards, close your eyes and in the area of  where your pelvis is tilted upward, imagine a  swirling vortex. This is just at the tip of your coccyx bone…this is the home of your Root/Muladhara Chakra.

The main purpose of our Root Chakra is our sense of security.  This is described as the flight or fight mechanism inside our body. When we live in spaces of fear or insecurity you may notice that you curl up like a ball and hide from the world or be on the defensive.  These are common signs of a blocked root chakra.

I like to describe a root chakra like this:   Picture a house like the ones in Hawaii on the stilts.  Those are the foundation of the house.  Now let’s say that the stilts on this house are  not up to par.  They have termites, warped due to weather or simply not strong enough, do you think that house is going to stay secure or do you think it’s going to fall down?  If the owners of the house had taken care of them properly and checked them regularly would they be worried?

The answer is most likely not, if they reinforce these stilts and take care of them with regular maintenance, these stilts are going to be balanced and able to support and secure the home.  A balanced Root Chakra is the chakra that balances our feelings of security and balance our inner home base. They make us feel safe.  What do you think is regular maintenance to have a positive reinforced base?  Now remember, the Root Chakra is a survival chakra, what do you need to survive?  Shelter, food and clothing, am I right?

Here is a personal example of a messed up Root Chakra…tell me what is my chakra doing, how am I handling this situation?  There was a time in my life where I lost everything. I lost my husband (temporarily), my home and my sense of direction.  I didn’t know what to do and everyday I was falling into a deeper state of depression.  My whole sense of security was shaken.  It was summer in California and the social worker had told me she would give me hotel vouchers, my mother in law was willing to help us out, but my mind was thinking of nothing but finding a safe place away from all the drama for my children.

Long story short, I took off to Montana to follow my dreams as a healer.  I had a friend who fed me pipe dreams of how we would have a business next to our house and everything was going to just be great.  It wasn’t, but it was.

Leaving California, it changed my life.  I learned how to become independent.  I cried a lot. I ended up in a homeless shelter for women.  After a week and a half, I was moving into a home and after 3 weeks, I had a job.  I had no drama, I was setting a new foundation and ever since then I’ve had a more balanced Chakra.  Somehow, the kids dad came out to visit and things just worked out better for us also,  So, what did I do with my imbalanced chakra?  I set off my survival mechanism,  I couldn’t stay where I was, it was bringing me down and I took flight.

Getting back to the basics, things could have ended up worse.  Our Root Chakra is connected to our bones, coccyx, the whole skeletal system, lower back and lower body. When we are imbalanced, we are open to creating dis-ease in these areas of our body, for example let’s say you suddenly are having lower back issues,  I can almost guarantee you that when your lower body starts aching, you are having some kind of insecurity, causing your root chakra to call out and let you know…”hey! it’s time to do something!” It doesn’t mean that you jump in your car and bounce out of the world, but you do something that can help balance you.

The Root Chakra is an Earth based chakra.  Each Chakra is related to the elements btw.  Some of things that can help you balance your root chakra is nature related.  When life seems to be going out of control, it’s a good idea to take some time out in nature.  If you can’t get out into nature visualize nature.  Picture yourself sitting on a stump in the middle of the forest,  take a few deep breaths.  With both feet on the ground, root yourself into the earth.  You can do this for real also.  I love to walk barefoot in the grass, this always makes me feel good.

Other than job security and a roof over your head, other ways to have a balanced Root Chakra, is Yoga.  Yoga is actually an optimal form of bringing balance and you can find books on Chakra Yoga, where they detail which yoga positions are best for each chakra. I really enjoy the book by Anodea Judith titled Chakra Yoga.  I also like the video by Sean Corn and she discusses the chakras separately as well as leading you in a dynamic chakra flow session.

There are three things that can be going on with our Chakras, a blockage, balance, or an over active chakra.  An over active chakra is a chakra that is spinning out of control.  You are so wrapped up in creating security, you work day and night, you take no time for yourself to root.  You work, and work and work, until you are drained.  You are still causing yourself dis-ease.  There is a healthy moderation in everything.   To help calm your over active chakra, an epsom salt bath, crystals such as uncut gemstones or emeralds are a wonderful tool for calming your root chakra and of course quietly meditating and bringing yourself back into a relaxed state.  Focus on the things that you find important to you, but not at the cost of your sanity.

We are living in a time that we all may feel a little shaken, and I suggest asking for help if you need it.  Don’t take the weight of the world on your shoulders.  Life is to short, focus on the necessities and let everything come as it may.

Do you remember when I said I’d get back to the Root Chakra literally being the foundation of our lives?  Our Super 7 chakra system, develops in different stages of our lives.  A root chakras, begins to develop when we are age 1-7.  If the first 7 years of your life were traumatized, this is setting up your foundation for life.  Many of us who have had troubling childhoods, tend to need a lot of healing.  Reflect back to as far as you can remember about your child.  Can these memories answer some possible imbalances or balances for you.  Were you even aware that this was possible?

Lastly, some Root Chakra Facts

  • Location, the base of the spine
  • Color:  Red
  • Element: Earth
  • Balanced:  Grounded, a feeling of not being blocked or stagnant
  • Unbalanced:  Inertia, Self-destructive, dis-ease in the lower body
  • Herbal Scents:  Patchouli, Cedarwood & Myrhh
  • Crystals:  Emerald, Carnelian, Bloodstone, Jasper & Tourmaline

I do hope you enjoyed this and please if you have any questions, please drop me a line.

In Love & Light,

Elena, The Chakra Faery

2 thoughts on “Root Chakra ~ The Basics

Leave a Reply

