We all have insecurities and some of us more than others.  Most of the time we let those insecurities rule our lives and keep us from living.  No, unfortunately, life is not as kind as we would like it to be and some people are really mean and some people really don’t care one way or the other.

All those people, don’t matter.  If you are insecure about your body, your looks, your financial situation…or whatever it is that keeps you from living, that is your insecurity and nobody else’s.  I’m going to ask that you try to embrace it, try to own it and then deal with it.

I will own that I am insecure about all the above things that I’ve mentioned.  I’ve been in relationships that made me feel not pretty enough, not thin enough and my kids make me insecure because I don’t have money to buy that toy that we saw at Kmart.  The funny thing about insecurities is that nobody pushes them on us, we take them upon ourselves and make them what they are.  And you know that we can make them pretty big.  They make us feel unhappy or unwanted or like a failure.

I’m sure it’s not my sons’ intention to make me feel that way when we can’t buy something or go to the pool on a nice day.  It’s not my husbands’ fault that I don’t understand the way a man’s mind works.  That I can’t wrap my head around things that some men find attractive and it has nothing to do with me.  He has never made me feel unattractive or unloved.  He’s never stepped out on me, but these are things that have made me insecure for a long time.  It wasn’t until one day, I realized it’s not about me.  I can’t control how other people think. Not even the people closest to me.  Just the way that they can’t control my mind.  We are all individuals, with our own thinking and our own feelings and we have to love others for who they are and they have to love us for who we are.  Life is made of choices, at any time if you feel insecure about anything you can walk away from it, you can make it go away.  Nothing is set in stone.

I could go on for days blaming other people for my insecurities but at the end of the day.  They are mine and mine alone.  I know it’s hard to embrace what hurts you, but how else can you heal them?  Healing takes place where there is love and intention for what needs be healed.  If your intention is to be healthy, then take action…what’s going to make you healthy.  If you want to write…write. Do the work.  Embrace what is there and heal it.

I’ve come to a point that if I like me If I take care of me and I don’t let the outside actions or thoughts of others bring me down, I can overcome my insecurities.  Battling Insecurities isn’t always just changing your mind and deciding that it’s not going to bother you anymore.  Battling insecurities is taking action, picking up a sword and fighting for your inner power and doing things that make you feel empowered.

You won’t write a book, waiting for the right computer to come along, that’s just an excuse because you let someone tell you that you can’t be a writer because you can’t handle rejection.  You won’t lose those unwanted pounds sitting on the couch eating a bag of chips and being depressed because you are too tired from all those carbs that you forget to go outside and live your life no matter what.  When you take action against those insecurities you start to make them go away and you get excited about life.

I was so insecure about myself, but I realized I had to get out and do things for my family. I embraced my insecurities, they were there, but so was my family.  I started doing things like field trips and volunteer work.  Next thing you know, I’m taking action on my health and making things happen in my life.  I’m walking streets I’ve never been and making new friends and embracing my path as a healer and a writer.

It doesn’t matter what I look like, but how I feel about myself.  It’s about letting go of the dream of who I want to be and being who I want to be.  I’m a Mama, a healer, and a writer.  I aspire to be a yoga teacher and a novelist and the best person I can be.  But for now, I’m aspiring to be me in the present in the potentiality of who I can still become.  Life changes and you have to roll with it and the people around you, but you don’t have to buy into what doesn’t resonate in making you whole.  Nobody will do it for you, you have to do it yourself.

It’s okay to love yourself and the parts you think you can’t.

Many Blessings,

Elena, Your Chakra Faery

 

Leave a Reply

